Gold Prospecting

As I was searching for a new idea to write for my blog, I came across a heading for the price of gold.  It revealed to me that the price of gold was at an all new record of $1301 per ounce.  That is certainly a far cry  from the $35 per ounce fixed price that gold was set at in 1967.  In fact, I was really hoping to go take a trip somewhere in North Carolina to some stream and become a “panner” like they did in the 1800’s to find a treasure trove.  Of course, that turned out to be a failed idea as fast as it came to me. We all know that when new records and information comes out, other articles jump on the topic and write about it in extensive detail.  After I read that headline I looked to the left and, of course, someone had written an article about gold prospecting.  As Queens has taught me, I did my research and read the article to learn about my new career as a gold panner.

The article began with bleak certainty.  It specifically said that only a few of the thousands of  prospectors ever found gold. Well this certainly put a damper in my spirits, but I’m a pretty stubborn person and continued with my beliefs that I could find some.  Then the article mentioned that new relatively inexpensive tools could be used to find new gold deposits more easily.  Unfortunately, it subsequently mentioned that all major placer deposits had been thoroughly checked not just once but twice.  For those of you who do not know, a placer deposit is a “concentration of natural minerals that has accumulated in unconsolidated sediments of a stream bed, beach, or residual deposit.” (“Gold Prospecting in the United States“)  This is the exact place I would be looking.  What sealed the deal was when the article said I was on the complete opposite side of the country to be looking for gold. Now I am not completely unknowledgeable.  I did know that most of the the Gold Rush occurred in the West.  I just also thought that maybe people did not thoroughly explore the East Coast.  At this point, I had given up.  I did not even need to read on and see that lode deposits, deposits of gold that solidified in solid rock, had been thoroughly searched as well.  Even if I did want to try and find deposits of this nature, I would need huge machinery, extensive scientific knowledge of the geologic area, and probably more then just myself to clear the area for mining.  This, of course, I would not even attempt due to the horrible environmental impacts it has on the surrounding area. Unfortunately, I suppose I will just have to come up with another idea that is a little more grounded then gold panning as my future job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gold Prospecting

  1. Wendy Foster says:

    I love your blog!!! There are very few get-rich schemes these days. I do know that if you would like to practive your skills, you could head out to Reed’s Gold Mine in Cabarrus County, just kidding. There is an abandoned gold mine in Mount Holly, NC but I suspect it would not be abandoned if there were any gold left there. Seriously though, my husband is an agregate surface miner…if you would like, I will be glad to bring you some pyrite to wish upon. It is fool’s gold and is unfortunately worthless.

Leave a Reply

