My Organic Garden

Just recently I have been inspired to build an organic garden in my backyard. My environmental science class went to a organic farm in Weddington and since then I have wanted to see if I have the green thumb. I have never really tried to grow anything before so this is a pretty big task I have ahead of me.

First there are a couple things that one needs to know to make sure that their garden in 100% organic and it starts with the lumber. The lumber used to make the raised bed garden must not have been treated with any chemicals at all. This is to insure that none of the harmful chemicals of treated wood get into to soil. I found it hard to believe that none of the local hardware stores carry untreated wood, so I had to go to a local scrap yard and get untreated wood that would not harm the soil. The next step was to till the soil. Since the garden is in my back yard I took the lawn mower and set it to the lowest height and cut the grass down. Next I took a hand tiller and aerated  the top six inches of soil. This was a lot harder than I thought. Many people I talked to recommended renting a power tiller, but I wanted the full gardening experience.

After tilling the soil I put down some wet newspaper that would help the old soil gain some extra nutrients as well as keeping any grass from growing back. I also spread some dead leaves and grass clippings over the newspaper to help speed up the decomposition process. I used organic top soil to fill in the remainder of soil needed for the garden. Next I took organic cow manure and mixed that in with a couple bags of the organic topsoil and I spread that over to top of the soil to add extra nutrients.

Around the garden I have planted some flowers to hopefully attract the pests to those instead of my vegetables. I do not know if this works, but slot of people told me that this is a good way to keep pests out without using any pesticide, and it looks good to. Now I am just waiting for the temperature to warm up to plant my seeds, but I have cucumber, tomato, lettuce, red bell pepper, and eggplant at the moment. I plan to add a little more, but we shall see.

I believe that everyone should have an organic garden if possible. This helps reduce the chemicals and toxins in the air, water and soil and takes some of the burden off the local farms. Having an organic garden also helps to promote healthy soil and dependency on plants grown with chemicals. Lastly, THE FOOD JUST TASTES BETTER. If you can’t have an organic garden yourself then at least support the local farms that do grow organic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Organic Garden

  1. alexmckinzie says:

    I really enjoyed reading this blog I want to grow my own organic garden really bad! But unfortunately I live in a dorm and that would be kinda hard to do, but I do have an aloe vera plant growing right now. I just got it a couple of weeks ago and It is a really small piece and it doesn’t want to seem to root itself to the soil so I am hoping that it is getting the water it needs and it will grow big and strong! I am glad you wrote this blog I want to tell my mom these ideas for our garden back home in Texas, but unfortunately we are going through a drought and the plants wont be too pretty this summer. Good luck with the green thumb and don’t give up!

  2. amynoelsmith says:

    This is a really good idea! I’m in the food section of core and we’re constantly talking about how certain foods are grown. I brought the idea up one day that we should have a Queens organic garden. Anyone want to join in?! We should also convince our cafeteria and den to only use corn based cups so we can use them for fertilizer. Let’s get this garden started.

  3. lpg42010 says:

    This is a great blog! I love talking about gardening and enjoy others thoughts on how to better improve your garden. Organic is the way to go. I have done much of this same stuff you explained at my homes in Georgia. The best thing about organic gardening is the satisfaction of providing food for yourself that you know good and well that it is healthy and good to eat. Also improving the quality of the soil and helping to recycle the nutrients back into the soil with proper practices is key to helping improve the natural quality of the soil for growing.

Leave a Reply

