Swedish Soil

Today when I was looking for research for soil i couldn’t decide what I wanted to write about. I felt like I was running out of good blog topics. But after a while I came up with a topic that I thought was really interesting for me, and that was to search for soils in Sweden; what differs? What can I find? and other questions about swedish soil.

When I searched I found (I thought it was quite funny) a website called SMSSE: Swedish society of soil science. I thought it was natural to have an American group about soil, but when it comes to a small country like Sweden (9 million ppl) it sounds a little ridiculous to have that. I also thought it was cool though, the website existed in both english and swedish. Apparently, in Sweden you can study soil science at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU). In addition, the Royal Institute of technology (KTH) and the University of Lund offer soil science courses for engineering and biology students, respectively. I have only heard about SLU when I was looking for universities back home, many of my friends goes to KTH which is in uptown Stockholm, and the University of Lund is a really big school in the south. Other than telling about studying possibilities there was not a lot to read about on the website.

I also found another website when I was looking for what soil type is the most common in Sweden. What I could find was that Sweden has a national system for classification of soil types. This covers among other things different forms of podsols, brown forest soils, waterlogged soils and lithosoles. I read this; “The system developed in the US, called “Soil Taxonomy” is so comprehensive and so general, that it can be applied worldwide, for example in the Nordic countries. The system comprises 11 main groups, for example, Spodosols, Inceptisols, Entisols and Histosols. FAO-Unesco has compiled an international soil type classification-Soil Map of the World, revised legend. This system comprises 28 main groups, for example, Podsols, Cambisols, Histosols, Gleysols, Leptosols, Regosols och Arenosols.” I’ve never heard of Cambisols and the other FAO’s. I really did not understand this. FAO-Unesco must be some other soil taxonomy with other names for the soil, if I’m not mistaken. This system is what Sweden has used for their soil survey. I found a soil map and figured out what soil type I have where I live and it is “Brown Forest Soil”. I don’t know what soil that compares to in the soil taxonomy.

This website was really good and had a lot of fun information: http://www-markinfo.slu.se/eng/soildes/mark.html i thought it was really interesting to read about Swedish soil and how it differed from American in the way it is measured and analysed. That’s why it can be difficult to compare the two countries. There might be other soil surveys that use the American soil taxonomy system.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swedish Soil

  1. amalderm says:

    I get the feeling that I am running out of blog topics as well. It’s not easy to come up with 500 words every week to write about soil, but we manage to do it. As for Swedish soil, I think its cool to study the soil from where you live. It gives you insight about a place you are familiar with, with information that most people do not even know. I have never been out of the country, but I think Sweden might be a pretty awsome place to live, study, and work.

Leave a Reply

