Snow!

So I’m looking outside right now at seeing that there is about 1.5 inches of snow on the ground. This is after the snowball fight I had with people. You can call me crazy for writing a blog about the snow but lets remember that I am from Texas where it snows like once ever 3 years. So this is a pretty big deal for me. I’m really banking on classes being cancelled tomorrow seeing how I have a Calculus test, but it would be depressing missing soil and water science. So I had a question that relates to soil, how does the snow actually affect that soil? While I was outside picking up a snowball it looked really white and delicious so I took a bite out of it and my friend (Jesse) yelled at me and said “ew no…ACID RAIN! You should know this, your an environmental science major!” So while on the topic of snow, I really want to know if it is really that bad for you to eat snow. I know this is kind of random but I thought it was a fun topic and fitting for the night.

The first thing that I thought about was that the soil bacteria would be stunded, because the bacteria that live there only like a certain temperature range. Like when we did our lab in Environmental Science the soil that we put in the fridge respired less than any of the other samples. But this would be different if we were , like gelisols would actually be “used” to the snow seeing how the soil is frozen almost all year long. Learning the new words cohesion and adhesion in class would pertain to this subject as well. The water molecules would stick together (cohesion) on the ground. And the once they melt they would saturate the ground leading to a -.33 to 0 potential.

Did you know that you should never eat snow? The reason you shouldn’t eat snow is becuase snoflakes form on small pieces of dust. When they fall from the clouds they pick up pollution from the air. The pollution sticks to the snowflake, then the flake falls to the ground. So if your eating snow you might be eating pollution and dirt. If you live next to or by a factory or plant that produces pollutants like CO2 and SO4 there is more of a chance for you eating pollutants that could possibly make you sick. The cleanest snow is in Antarctica. Becaues the continent is far from cities and their pollution, the snowflakes aren’t as dirty. The snow there might even be clean enough to eat. Even though eating snow can burn calories by burning energy to make the water body temperature, you shouldn’t eat snow. So I hope I didn’t just eat pollutants.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow!

  1. Yes, It would be unfortunate to miss Soil and Water Science but I do have that same Calculus exam tomorrow as well…. Winthrop has called off as well as most private schools in Charlotte- the weather channel is calling this the biggest snow storm in about five years!

  2. amynoelsmith says:

    hahaha alex this is hilarious. i pretty much did the exact same thing i said eating some snow also and abruptly spit it out because it did not taste very good. on a different note from what you wrote about, but i wonder if snow tastes different in different parts of the world?

  3. emilyhartman says:

    This doesn’t have much to do with your article, but I had an experience with today’s weather. I was driving back to Charlotte from Fayetteville earlier today in the rain. I felt like a nerd, because on the drive I was thinking about rain drop impact and how all the rain would be effecting the soil.

Leave a Reply

